Top Ballerina happy to be “Full Time Mother”

In this BBC interview, Darcey Bussell – the Royal Ballet’s youngest ever principal ballerina and now retired and looking after her children – says, “being a full-time mother was something I always wanted to do”.

One Response to “Top Ballerina happy to be “Full Time Mother””

  1. Laura Robinson Says:

    I ‘gave up’ my career back in 2005 to become a full-time mum, after failing to find childcare which I deemed suitable. I considered 17 settings between 2004-2007 (and even volunteered in a couple) so it’ s not through failure to ‘look around’. I evenutally gave up looking for “high-quality” daycare in early 2007 when it became apparent to ME that it can’t exists – not for under 1s, anyway – which is one I feel so strongly that the option of becoming a full-time mum is so important.

    I was told that career wise, I would be ‘finished’. Funny that, because I know many mums who have managed to return to work following a career break, even in these times of economic hardship, including myself. One mother of 3 I know, had a 13 year career break and is now earning £45,000 per annum in a relatively secure employment.

    So it’s not all doom and gloom, even for those of us who initially, at least, had not intended or planned to become a full-time mum.

Leave a Reply

