Families and work: Revisiting barriers to employment

This research, commissioned by the Department for Work and Pensions, includes the finding that “There was… a widespread reluctance to use formal childcare”. Many parents want to look after their own children rather than outsource.

Also, the report’s title shows a bias, assuming that everyone should be in full-time employment. This is wrong. Better to  aim that all  people are households where sufficient money is earned to cover the costs of everyone in that household – a subtle but important distinction.

One Response to “Families and work: Revisiting barriers to employment”

  1. Laura Says:

    Where are all these jobs?

    I live in the North West. Previously, I was one of the few SAHM and one of the only households with 1 income earner. Nowadays, 1 income households are the norm.

    A lot of people here have been made redundant/lost their jobs and are now unemployed. Worst still, many, for one reason or another, can’t claim JSA so they don’t appear on any unemployment statistics.

    Maybe things are better in the South/London/South East, but in the North, things are desperate. I work as a freelancer and this year so far has not been good. I am really struggling and I have barely earnt anything compared to last year. I know I am not alone.

    What is the point of pushing all new mothers into employment when there aren’t any jobs available? When I attended an interview recently – in my attempt to secure a more reliable source of income – I was informed that I was 1 of 120 people who had applied for the post. The pay? £7.20/hour

Leave a Reply

